Wetaskiwin Rural Fire Protection Zone 2

In 2005 the City of Wetaskiwin, County of Wetaskiwin, and Wetaskiwin Rural Fire Protection Zone 2 Society entered into a 20 year Fire Protection agreement which demonstrated the long term commitment to the provision of fire protection services to the residents of the City and surrounding rural County area.

E-911 service is provided to residents through a contract with City of Red Deer Dispatch Services and Telus Communications. The E-911 center takes the calls and relays them directly to the fire department via two-way radio system.

The 37-member department is currently composed of a full time Fire Chief, Deputy Fire Chief, a half-time Fire Inspector and Public Education Officer and Administrative support staff. All other members are paid-on-call including:
  • Four captains
  • Four lieutenants
  • 23 firefighters

Firefighters responded to over 400 calls in the 2017. The types of calls the department attends include:

  • Structure fires
  • Motor vehicle collisions
  • Vehicle fires
  • Hazardous material spills
  • Grass and brush
  • Medical/RCMP assists
  • Dumpster fires
  • Alarms ringing
  • Miscellaneous public support calls
  • Ice Rescue
  • Down powerlines
  • Rope Rescue

When firefighters are paged, they rally to their assigned fire station, gear up, and jump on the trucks.

Four fire rescue vehicles parked outside of a fire station


The Wetaskiwin Rural Fire Protection Zone 2 operates with the following equipment:
  •  1 Pumper Truck
  •  1 Quick Response Brush Truck
  • 1 Rescue Unit
  • 2 Tanker Trucks