COUNTY OF WETASKIWIN NO. 10

40.3 SOLID WASTE

Municipal Policy & Procedures Manual

SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT POLICY #40.3.1

POLICY STATEMENT

The County of Wetaskiwin owns and operates nine solid waste transfer stations and has operating agreements with adjacent municipalities. The Solid Waste Management Policy provides direction for safe and efficient operation of the transfer stations and implementation of a User pay system.

PROCEDURES

1. General:

- 1.1. Site attendants will require the presentation of a County User card prior to disposal of waste. The card must be provided in order to confirm authorized Users and to ensure accuracy of billing records. The attendant has the authority to ask for photo ID when validating the name issued on the User card.
- 1.2. Signs will be posted at transfer stations to inform ratepayers of E-Waste and Toxic Roundup schedules as well as year round locations that accept hazardous materials (toxins, compressed gas, etc.).
- 1.3. As per the Petty Trespass Act, "No Trespassing" signs will be posted at the entrance gate and at all four corners of the transfer station property. Entrance gates shall be locked during non-business hours of operation.
- 1.4. County administration will ensure Users are informed via newsletter, advertising, website, signs and other methods to ensure a high level of communication.
- 1.5. Un-authorized dumping, scavenging and theft at all transfer station sites is prohibited.

2. <u>User Card Distribution:</u>

2.1. In May of each year, a User card will be distributed to each landowner within the County of Wetaskiwin. These cards will be valid up to August of the following year whereby the new annual cards are to be used.

REVISION DATE:	COUNCIL APPROVAL DATE:	REF. PAGE NO.	PAGE NUMBER:
Res. #PW20180213.1005; PW20190129.019	June 12, 2001	2001/143 PD	1 of 2
ADMINISTRATIVELY REVIEWED:			

SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT POLICY #40.3.1

- 2.2. Landowners/Landlords are required to make annual arrangements to obtain a User card for their tenants and will be responsible for any and all costs incurred by the tenant. Landowners requesting more than one User card must apply at the County Office for additional User cards.
- 2.3. Participating municipalities will be issued User cards of a different colour to clearly identify which municipality they reside in. It will be up to the municipality to ensure proper distribution of cards to their ratepayers.
- 2.4. Clearwater County residents using County of Wetaskiwin No. 10 roads as their only means of access shall be issued User cards.

3. Fees & Payment:

- 3.1. Fees as per the Fees and Charges Bylaw.
- 3.2. Site attendants will not accept payment for waste disposal fees.
- 3.3. Site attendants are required to enter all information into the required forms and the User is to provide a signature stating that they agree with the assessment of waste type and volumes plus any applicable charges pursuant to this Policy and the Fees and Charges Bylaw. Site attendants shall keep accurate records and submit these records in a proper format to the Administration Office.
- 3.4. A note shall be included on the User card stating that "Use of this card is conditional upon agreement that the cardholder shall be responsible for all charges associated with the use of the card unless a written request to cancel the card is received by the County".
- 3.5. The Town of Millet has a Memorandum of Agreement with the County whereby Town of Millet residents are required to purchase vouchers from their administration office prior to hauling waste to the transfer station facility. Vouchers will be collected by the Millet transfer station attendant and submitted monthly to County Administration. The Town of Millet will then be billed for reimbursement of the vouchers.
- 3.6. The County shall issue User cards to the Summer Village of Ma-Me-O Beach or any approved municipality who in turn shall distribute to their residents. The User cards are subject to all fees contained in this Policy and the Fees and Charges Bylaw.
- 3.7. All charges stipulated in the Fees and Charges Bylaw or by agreement, shall be invoiced directly to County of Wetaskiwin residents, Clearwater County residents, the Summer Village of Ma-Me-O Beach, the Town of Millet, or any approved municipality receiving the service. Billing shall be as per agreement or current Utility billing schedules.

REVISION DATE:	COUNCIL APPROVAL DATE:	REF. PAGE NO.	PAGE NUMBER:
Res. #PW20180213.1005; PW20190129.019	June 12, 2001	2001/143 PD	2 of 2
ADMINISTRATIVELY REVIEWED:			