County of Wetaskiwin No. 10

Box 6960

Wetaskiwin, AB, T9A 2G5 Phone: 780-352-3321

Fax: 780-352-3486

Website: www.county.wetaskiwin.ab.ca



NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release September 21, 2021

County of Wetaskiwin Municipal Election

On Monday, October 18, 2021, the County of Wetaskiwin will be holding our Municipal Election. The County of Wetaskiwin is divided into seven divisions and each division elects one representative for a four-year term. On September 20, 2021, Nominations closed for the election and four divisions were appointed by acclamation:

- Division 1 Bill Krahn
- Division 3 Dale Woitt
- Division 4 Josh Bishop
- Division 5 Ken Adair

There will be elections in Division 2, 6, & 7.

Division 2 candidates are:

- Lynn Marie Carwell
- Terry Van de Kraats

Division 6 Candidates are:

- Ron Baumann
- Rodney Heeney
- Kathy Rooyakkers

Division 7 Candidates are:

- Chad Baumann
- Lyle Seely

For more information and to see where to vote please visit: https://www.county.wetaskiwin.ab.ca/564/Election-2021.

When voting, all electors are required to show identification which contains proof of identity and current residence. For more details on voter identification visit: https://www.county.wetaskiwin.ab.ca/168/Right-ID-to-Vote.

Any resident may vote at the advanced voting station on Saturday, October 2, 2021, from 10:00 am until 8:00 pm at the County of Wetaskiwin Administration Office, the Falun Community Centre, and the Buck Lake Community Hall.

County of Wetaskiwin No. 10

Box 6960 Wetaskiwin, AB, T9A 2G5 Phone: 780-352-3321

Fax: 780-352-3486

Website: www.county.wetaskiwin.ab.ca



NEWS RELEASE

Special (mail-in) Ballots are available to eligible voters who are unable to make it to the Advance Vote or Election Day polling station because of: physical disability, absence from the local jurisdiction, or being a returning officer, deputy returning officer, substitute returning officer, constable, candidate, official agent, or scrutineer who may be located on election day at a voting station other than that for the elector's place of residence.

Voters are encouraged to contact Jeff Chipley, Returning Officer, to apply for a special ballot by phone (780-361-6223) or email (<u>jchipley@county10.ca</u>). The County of Wetaskiwin is accepting Special Ballots applications until October 1, 2021. All Special Ballots must be returned by 8:00 pm on October 18, 2021, to the County of Wetaskiwin Office.

Institutional Voting will be available on Monday, October 18, 2021, at the West Pine Seniors Lodge (Winfield) from 10:00 - 11:00 am and at the Wetaskiwin Hospital from 1:00 - 2:00 pm.

Election for the local school board will be held in conjunction with the municipal election. County residents voting in Ward 1 and 2 for the Wetaskiwin Regional Public School election can vote at their designated polling station. For more information visit: https://www.wrps11.ca/trustees/election-2021

The County of Wetaskiwin will also be conducting the Senate Election and Referendum vote of behalf of Elections Alberta on October 18. Residents will be able to vote at their designated polling station, if your division was appointed by acclamation, you can vote for the Senate and Referendum election at any polling station within the County of Wetaskiwin. For more information visit: https://www.elections.ab.ca/senate-and-referendum/