County of Wetaskiwin No. 10

Box 6960

Wetaskiwin, AB, T9A 2G5 Phone: 780-352-3321 Fax: 780-352-3486

Website: www.county.wetaskiwin.ab.ca



NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release March 12, 2021

Changes to Toxic Waste Round-up

On February 23, 2021 Council directed Administration to opt out of the Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) Toxic Round-up in 2021 due to the Provincial government no longer subsidizing the cost for disposal of hazardous waste collected under the program. This lack of funding will triple the cost of the round-up. The County of Wetaskiwin remains committed to explore cost-effective opportunities to provide residents with recycling options. Watch our website for updates regarding recycling options.

The County has held the Round-up at the Lakedell School and in the Town of Millet (in conjunction with the Town of Millet) every year in June. The round-up received household hazardous waste such as solvents, household cleaners and batteries, engine cleaners, contaminated soil, paint without labels and oil.

Currently, the County's nine transfer stations accept paint with label, paint products and electronic waste. Recently, Alberta Recycling has expanded the household electronics collection program to accept small electronics including small appliances, audio visual, telecom, power tools, video games and toys. This program is available at all County transfer stations.

The Peace Hills site is the only site that currently receives oil, oil filters and containers. The County is exploring options in expanding oil collection to other sites.

County transfer station sites are not currently set up to receive hazardous waste. The Leduc Waste Management Facility and Ambleside EcoStation in South Edmonton will accept hazardous waste from outside residents. Charges will apply at these facilities.

County residents are also able to access the City of Wetaskiwin's Recycling Centre for non-hazardous waste recycling.